You are here: Home About The Museum
The Town Museum of Františkovy Lázně / Franzensbad has its origins in 1912, when the first collection items for the future museum began to be collected among the residents. By the appeal of June 20, 1913, the then mayor Eugen Loimann made these efforts an issue of the town Franzensbad, while the first modest premises of the house “Aeskulap” in Karlstraße (nowadays Americká street, House No. 131/9) were reserved for the Museum together with the Town Library.
After the end of the First World War, the conduct of the museum was taken over by the eminent regional researcher Alois John, who turned the collected items into a real museum exhibition. However, this exhibition did not withstand the Second World War, during which the museum de facto ceased to exist, and the larger part of the collections was lost. The collection activity was restored only in 1957 and the exhibition was opened anew four years later. In October 2008, the museum moved to the former “Firefighter Spa House” (Feuerwehrkurhaus) in Dlouhá Street near Town Pond.
The present museum exhibition documents the history of the spa town from the time of Franzens-Spring unveiling to the 20th century, local architecture and the development of balneological methods. Among other things, the visitors can see the historical postcards of the spa, the wooden chute of Franzens-Spring from the middle of the 18th century or the original “Frantík” statue by Adolf Mayerl from 1923.
Copyright © 2022 MUZEUM Františkovy Lázně